Uneventful week

This week I just stuck to my training plan, 3 days of yoga and 2 days of running.

Wait a minute…I mean 2 days of yoga and 3 days of running. How did that happen? That’s not the plan.

The plan was to start out slow in the first quarter, 3-4 days of yoga and 2 days of running with a first 5km race planned for the end of March. The plan was to solidify my yoga practice first. Instead, I’ve completed 2 races over the last 2 weeks and my yoga practice has taken a back to seat to my new plan to run at least one race/month.

beast

The logo alone strikes fear in my heart!

In addition, the trail race on the 18th taught me that up-hills are my kryptonite! So now I’ve planned to start running hills ahead of my next rail race on 22 February: the Hedianga Beast. That would make 3 days of running a week with a planned 3 other days for yoga.

One positive thing I have been learning over the past few weeks is that the more I run, the more I want to do yoga; and the more I do yoga, the more I want to run. And I’m really enjoying teaching yoga to runners! They’re totally gung-ho and ready to learn and have no expectations. And afterwards, they feel great! One student said she was suddenly aware of the imbalances in her running the next day. With this added awareness, she could now improve her running with more balance and better proprioception. Yay yoga!

It is still a challenge to get on my mat at 6am in the mornings. But I never, ever regret it.

Leave a Reply

