First botanical gardens run

Fred at Mindful Runner has been trying to convince me for quite a few years that yoga and running are a match made in heaven. But since he kind of stopped coming to yoga classes, but continued running, I thought it might have been a phase.

But lately I’ve felt, not that yoga is not enough, but that I need to do something more. Mostly because I’ve been reading more and more about how cardiovascular fitness is key to longevity and that those who are fit have a much easier time of it as they age. And of course my dad was still running  and competing in road races until his diagnosis of cholangiocarcinoma in July 2012 when he was 71. So I decided that I’ve run before and I should just see how it goes and pick it up again. But I told myself that my yoga practice came first!

So today, I dusted off my parkour shoes (remember my parkour days?) and went for a 5km run around the Johannesburg Botanical Gardens. I had been doing yoga 3-4 times/week for the past 2-3 weeks, but this was on another level altogether. Five kms took me over 50 mins and I was gasping most of the time. What was I thinking?

botgar

Thankfully I don’t have stats from that run, I didn’t get my watch until later.

Leave a Reply

